This page is currently under construction!

Herbarium of the Botanical Society of Basel

Herbar der Basler Botanischen Gesellschaft (BBG) The Botanical Society of Basel (BBG) was founded in 1952 for the purpose to promote botanical sciences and holds strong connections with the University. By donations, legacies and exchange this herbaria became one of the largest private herbaria worldwide (Int Herbarium code BASBG). An emphasis is on Central Europe and the Mediterranean. >more
The specimens are actually digitized and in part already available online in digitized form (c. 300’000 vouchers).

Orchid herbarium J. Renz

Orchideenherbar J. Renz Dr. Jany Renz (1907-1999) was a chemist, chief officer of pharmaceutical research at Sandoz AG in Basel, and a passionate disciple of orchids and their biology. Renz created a magnificant collection of orchids, including may type specimen of european orchid species, which he mostly had described himself. The orchid herbarium and the associated library have an international reputation. > more
The specimens are available online in digitized form (28'331 vouchers).

Herbarium C. Bauhin

Specimen Label Caspar Bauhin (1560-1624) was a Swiss Botanist and the first professor of Botany at the University of Basel. He described and classified thousands of plants. At his time and as a taxonomist he was a forerunner of Linnaeus. His herbarium is among the oldest preserved herbaria worldwide and was a working basis for the first local flora ever written, the one of the sourrounding of Basel. Included are many vouchers of new plants brought to Europe from the New World, including the first herbaria specimen of a potato. > more
The specimens are available online in digitized form (3355 vouchers).

Herbarium J. J. Hagenbach

Herbar J. J. Hagenbach Johan Jakob Hagenbach (1595-1649) was a physician and later on a professor for logics and ethics at the University of Basel. He was a disciple and friend of Caspar Bauhin and collected plants for him mostly in the sourroundings of Basel and in the Bernese mountains. Hagenbach disponed the herbarium after his death to the University of Basel. > more

The specimens are being digitized and are available online (3355 vouchers).

Herbarium W. de Lachenal

Werner de Lachenal (1736-1800) Werner de Lachenal (1736-1800) was a professor of anatomy and botany at the University of Basel sind 1776. At his time he was among the most outstanding adepts of the Swiss flora. Lachenal was preparing a new flora of the surroundings of Basel, which however was never published. His herbarium includes mostly plants from Switzerland, but as well many exotic plants from botanical gardens. > more
The specimens are available online in digitized form (XXXX vouchers).

Herbarium of the Institute of Botany

Specimen Label This collection of plants includes about 250'000 specimen and includes vouchers of plants from Switzerland, as well as vouchers of plants collected world-wide. Part of this herbarium is a documentation of the plants occurring in Switzerland, which can be used by students and researchers for comparisons. The collection of the institute documents the research activity of the professors of botany in Basel since the death of Werner de Lachenal. The herbarium includes many type specimens, which document the first description of plant species. > more
This herbarium is not yet available in digitized form (c. 250’000 vouchers).
© 2016 University of Basel | Imprint | All Rights Reserved.

Diese Seite befindet sich derzeit im Aufbau!

Herbar der Basler Botanischen Gesellschaft (BBG)

Herbar der Basler Botanischen Gesellschaft (BBG) Die Basler Botanische Gesellschaft (BBG) wurde 1952 mit dem Zweck der Förderung der botanischen Wissenschaft gegründet und unterhält enge Beziehungen zur Universität.Durch Schenkungen, Vermächtnisse und Tausch ist dieses Herbar heute eines der grössten Privat-Herbarien der Welt (Herbarcode BASBG). Schwerpunkte sind Mitteleuropa und der Mittelmeerraum. > mehr
Die Herbarbelege werden aktuell digitalalisiert und sind digital zugänglich (c. 300’000 Belege).

Orchideenherbar J. Renz

Orchideenherbar J. Renz Dr. Jany Renz (1907-1999) war Chemiker, von 1956-71 Leiter der pharmazeutisch-chemischen Forschung der Sandoz AG und ein leidenschaftlicher Orchideen-Botaniker. Renz schuf eine grossartige Sammlung von Orchideen, mit zahlreichen Typen europäischer Orchideen enthält, die er oft selbst beschrieben hat. Das Orchideenherbarium und die zugehörige Bibliothek haben Weltruf. Nach seinem Tod vermachte er die Sammlung der Universität Basel. >mehr
Die Herbarbelege sind digital zugänglich (28'331 Belege).

Herbar C. Bauhin

Specimen Label Caspar Bauhin (1560-1624) war der erste Professor für Botanik an der Universität Basel, wissenschaftlich ein Wegbereiter von Linné und ein Botaniker von Weltruf. Sein Herbarium gehört zu den ältesten und berühmtesten Herbarien der Welt und bildete die Grundlage für die erste Lokalflora der Welt, jene der Region Basel. Das Herbar beinhaltet auch viele der erst gerade nach Europa gebrachten Pflanzen aus der neuen Welt, darunter den ersten Herbarbeleg einer Kartoffel. > mehr
Die Herbarbelege sind digital zugänglich (3355 Belege).

Herbar J. J. Hagenbach

Herbar J. J. Hagenbach Johann Jakob Hagenbach (1595-1649) war Arzt und später Professor für Logik und Ethik. Er war Schüler und später ein Freund von Caspar Bauhin, für welchen er v.a. in der Region Basel und im Berner Oberland Pflanzen sammelte. Hagenbach vermachte sein Herbar nach seinem Tod der Universität Basel. >mehr
Die Herbarbelege werden aktuell digitalalisiert und sind digital zugänglich (3355 Belege).

Herbar W. de Lachenal

Werner de Lachenal (1736-1800) Werner de Lachenal (1736-1800) war ab 1776 Professor der Anatomie und Botanik und galt zu seiner Zeit als einer der bedeutendsten Pflanzenkenner der Schweiz. Lachenal arbeitete an einer Flora der Region Basel, die aber nie erschienen ist. Sein Herbarium enthält vorwiegend Pflanzen aus der Schweiz, aber auch viele exotische Pflanzen aus botanischen Gärten.> mehr
Die Herbarbelege sind digital zugänglich (XXXX Belege).

Herbarium des Botanischen Instituts

Specimen Label Diese Pflanzensammlung umfasst ca. 250'000 Belege und ist unterteilt in eine Sammlung von Pflanzen aus der Schweiz und eine Sammlung von Pflanzen weltweit. Zu diesem Herbarium gehört eine Dokumentation sämtlicher Arten der Schweizer Flora, welche Studierenden und Forschern für Vergleichszwecke dient. Diese Sammlung dokumentiert die Forschungstätigkeit von Basler Professoren in der Botanik seit dem Tod von Werner de Lachenal.> mehr
Die Herbarbelege sind noch nicht digital zugänglich (c. 250'000 Belege).
© 2016 Universität Basel | Impressum | All Rights Reserved.